Comprising members of the Bar, professionals and individuals from diverse backgrounds, court volunteers play an important role in the State Courts’ mission to provide access to justice and thus, make a great difference to those who benefit from their service. The annual appreciation event is organised to recognise the sterling contributions of court volunteers for their commitment to and support of the State Courts’ various programmes for litigants-in-person and court users.



Read more about the following past events:

Court Volunteers' Appreciation Dinner 2013

The annual Court Volunteers’ Appreciation Dinner was held at the Furama City Centre Hotel on 8 November 2013. It is a celebratory event to recognise the contributions of volunteers who have invested their time and efforts to partner us in enhancing the delivery of justice. This year, special recognition was given to more than 20 individuals and organisations who have contributed selflessly to the mission of the Subordinate Courts over the past few years.

The Chief Justice Sundaresh Menon was the guest-of-honour for the event.

You can also read the Asia One "Honours for volunteers at Subordinate Courts" media report for more information.

Back to the top 

Court Volunteers’ Appreciation Tea 2014

Volunteers play an integral role in the work of the State Courts. Our annual appreciation event to thank and honour our volunteers for their service was held on 2 Sep 2014. In a break from the past practice to host a formal dinner, we held an inaugural appreciation tea at the State Courts this year to provide greater opportunities for court volunteers to interact with colleagues from the State Courts. Awards were presented to outstanding volunteers for their dedicated and distinguished service. A special tribute was also paid to volunteers from the pioneer generation.

 Read the address by Judicial Commissioner See Kee Oon, Presiding Judge of the State Courts.


 Back to the top

Court Volunteers' Appreciation Lunch 2015

Each year, we organise an appreciation event to thank and honour all our court volunteers for their dedicated service and invaluable contribution to deliver justice to the community.  This year, we held an appreciation lunch at the Furama City Centre on 12 November 2015.  A total of 51 court volunteers attended the event.  In conjunction with Singapore’s Jubilee year and as a small token of our appreciation, each guest was also presented with an SG50 commemorative coin.

The highlight of the event was the Outstanding Court Volunteer Award presentation, which were awarded to Mr See Chern Yang (Advocate and Solicitor Category) and Associate Professor Lum Kit Wye (Open Category) respectively.  The Outstanding Court Volunteer awards recognise individuals who have demonstrated outstanding commitment and dedication as volunteers with the State Courts.

The smooth-running of the event would not have been possible without the volunteer coordinators from the Centre for Dispute Resolution, Community Justice and Tribunals Division, Criminal Justice Division, as well as the Communications Directorate.  I am grateful to everyone for their time and efforts in making this event a meaningful one for our court volunteers, and always ensuring that the court volunteers are well taken care of so that they can fully focus on assisting our court users.

 Read the address by Judicial Commissioner See Kee Oon, Presiding Judge of the State Courts.

Back to the top

Volunteer Mediators Pledge-Taking Ceremony 2016

The State Courts have over the years actively promoted mediation as a dispute resolution option for cases filed at the State Courts.  We have been greatly assisted in this regard by our many volunteer mediators who have contributed their time, expertise and experience to this cause.  To recognise the importance and contributions of our Volunteer Mediators, we held a simple yet meaningful ceremony on 29 March 2016 to formalise their appointments.  A total of 108 volunteer mediators took their pledge and received their Certificates of Appointment at the ceremony.  We are deeply grateful for their dedication and willingness to serve, and wish them success in their appointments.

 Read the Welcome Address by Judicial Comissioner, See Kee Oon, Presiding Judge of the State Courts.

 Back to the top

Judiciary Volunteers Appreciation Dinner 2016

For the first time, the State Courts, Supreme Court and Family Justice Courts came together to organise the Judiciary Volunteers Appreciation Dinner on 1 November 2016 to show our appreciation and recognise the contributions of our volunteers. The dinner was hosted by The Honourable the Chief Justice Sundaresh Menon at the Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.

At the dinner, the Chief Justice presented the State Courts Outstanding Court Volunteer Awards to:

  • Mr Kamalarajan Chettiar (Advocate and Solicitor category)

Mr Kamalarajan Chettiar of Rajan Chettiar LLC and Resolvers Pte Ltd is a mediator for both civil disputes and Magistrates Complaint matters. He has volunteered on 17 occasions in the past year and is one of the longest-serving volunteers for civil disputes, joining the volunteer programme since 2009.

  • Mr Lim Soon Hock (Open category)

Mr Lim Soon Hock of PLAN-B ICAG Pte Ltd has spent more than 25 years in public and community service and has served as a volunteer mediator for Magistrate’s Complaint matters since 2013. In the past year, he has volunteered on 19 occasions with the State Courts.

In addition, the Chief Justice presented the Legal Assistance Scheme for Capital Offences (“LASCO”) Award by the Supreme Court to Mr Eugene Thuraisingam of Eugene Thuraisingam LLP, and the Family Justice Courts Outstanding Court Volunteer Awards to Ms Asiah Zam Zam (Advocate and Solicitor category) and Ms Annie Seah Hwee Kheng (Open category).

Long Service Awards were also presented to our volunteers who had served for 15 and 20 years. The recipients were:

  1. Long Service Award (15 years)
    • Mr Ajaib Hari Dass
    • Mr Anthony Loh
    • Dr Baey Lian Peck
    • Mr Cheng Wai Keung
    • Mr Cheong Khim Teck
    • Mr Chia Ah Sah
    • Mrs Chia Swee Tin
    • Mr Chng Beng Guan
    • Mr Choo Si Sen
    • Mr Jamshid K Medora
    • Mr Koh Lian Huat
    • Mr Kong Mun Kwong
    • Mr Lee Chow Soon
    • Mr Leong Chun Loong
    • Mr Leow Peng Kui
    • Ms Lim Hsiu Mei
    • Prof Low Cheng Hock
    • Mr Hon Chia Chun Noel
    • Mr Shriniwas Rai
    • Mr Tan Kah Hoe
    • Dr Teng Su Ching
    • Dr Teo Cheng Swee
  2. Long Service Award (20 years)
    • Mr Vijayarengan Maheantharan

The guests were treated to a performance by “The Illegals”, a band led by Mr Francis Xavier, SC. In addition, Mr Josephus Tan shared his pro bono experience with the guests.

This inaugural joint event was organised by the Communications Directorate, together with the Supreme Court’s Office of Public Affairs and staff of the Family Justice Courts.  I am heartened to see the close cooperation among the three courts in making this event a success. I would also like to thank the Community Justice and Tribunals Division and Centre for Dispute Resolution for managing the volunteers and always ensuring that they are provided with the necessary facilities and given the support to carry out their volunteer duties.

 Read the Opening Remarks by Chief Justice Sundaresh Menon.

Back to the top

Last updated on: 8/8/2017 7:06 PM
© Copyright 2017 State Courts Singapore.
This site is best viewed using IE11 & above and all latest 2 versions